Exhibition of Daniel Rybakken – Recipient of the Torsten and Wanja Söderberg Prize 2017

  • Daniel Rybakkens objekt Ascent
    Daniel Rybakkens objekt Ascent. Foto: Daniel Rybakken
  • Daniel Rybakkens objekt Light Trey. Foto: Daniel Rybakken
  • Daniel Rybakken och Kalle Sanners objekt Layers installation Day. Foto: Kalle Sanner
  • Daniel Rybakken. Foto: Kalle Sanner

Recipient of the Torsten and Wanja Söderberg Prize 2017 goes to the Norwegian light and furniture designer Daniel Rybakken.

The award committee’s motivation:
Daniel Rybakken successfully raises design to a higher philosophical level. He reflects on major questions such as lighting and interior design, and uses his ideas to create projects that not only follow design history, but also develop it.He uses poetic and magical effects to recreate daylight in enclosed spaces, bringing us new light.

Daniel Rybakken (b.1984) was born in Oslo and trained at AHO, the Oslo School of Architecture and Design.He has a Master of Fine Arts from HDK, the Academy of Design and Crafts at the University of Gothenburg.He lives and works in Gothenburg, where he has run Studio Daniel Rybakken, in the Majorna area of the city, since 2008.

Subconsious effects of daylight, his degree project at HDK from 2008, examined how daylight influences us.One item, a table that recreated reflections from the sun on the floor, aroused attention when it was displayed at the Milan Furniture Fair that year.

Rybakken has continued to investigate light and lighting, such as his series of lamps for Italy’s Luceplan and the light installationen Daylight Entrance (Stockholm 2009), in which 6,500 LEDs in an enclosed stairwell create the illusion of daylight indoors.He has now gained international recognition as a lighting designer, with several exhibitions under his belt, such as the Layers installation in Paris in 2012.

In 2014, with no experience of furniture design at all, he was asked to work in partnership with Finland’s Artek, founded by Alvar Aalto in 1935. This led him to broaden his field of work.

The Torsten and Wanja Söderberg Prize was established in 1994 by the Torsten and Ragnar Söderberg Foundations, to commemorate the centenary of Torsten Söderberg’s birth. Since 2014, it has been funded by the Torsten Söderberg Foundation. Awarded annually to a prominent designer from one of the Nordic countries, the prize, amounting to SEK 1 million, is the largest of its kind in the design world. The award recipient is selected by a committee composed of representatives from the Röhsska Museum and its sister institutions in the Nordic countries.

The exhibition at the Röhsska Museum is on display November 5, 2017 to February, 18 2018. More information about the opening coming soon.

Category: T & W Söderberg award